1. Food
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo vegetarian)

By

Definition: What is a vegetarian? When most people think of vegetarians, they think of lacto-ovo-vegetarians: People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg). This is the most common type of vegetarian in North America.

Lacto-vegetarian is used to describe a vegetarian who does not eat eggs, but does eat dairy products. Many Hindu vegetarians are lacto-vegetarians who avoid eggs for religious reasons while continuing to eat dairy.

Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs. Some people are ovo-vegetarians because they are lactose-intolerant.

See also:

  • Are eggs vegetarian?
  • How to Become Vegetarian
  • All vegetarian recipes
  • Types of Vegetarians

    Like this article?

    Sign up to receive free vegetarian and vegan recipes, resources and tips in a weekly email newsletter. Click here.
  • Also Known As: Lacto-ovo vegetarian
    1. About.com
    2. Food
    3. Vegetarian Food
    4. Glossary
    5. Vegetarian (Lacto-ovo Vegetarian) Definition

    ©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.