Ovo-vegetarian refers to people who do not eat meat or dairy products but do eat eggs. Many people are ovo-vegetarians because they are lactose-intolerant. The prefix "ovo" comes from the Latin word for egg.
Ovo-vegetarians are less common than lacto-ovo-vegetarians, and are different than vegans.
See also: Types of Vegetarians
Like this article?Sign up
to receive free
vegetarian and vegan recipes, resources and tips in a weekly email newsletter. Click here.