1. Food
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Casein

By

Updated May 21, 2014

Written or reviewed by a board-certified physician. See About.com's Medical Review Board.

Definition: Casein is a milk protein commonly used in processed foods. You’ll find it in many non-dairy creamers and soy cheeses. As it is derived from milk, casein is not vegan but it is vegetarian. Although many vegans do not mind a small amount of casein in their soy cheese, most avoid these products. Caseinates, such as calcium caseinate, potassium caseinate and sodium caseinate are derived from casein and as such, are also not vegan. If you are allergic to dairy, you should avoid both casein and caseinates.

See also: ​Easy vegan recipes to try

Like this article?

Sign up to receive free vegetarian and vegan recipes, resources and tips in a weekly email newsletter. Click here.

 

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.